Former Gov. Lynch honored Feb. 3 with Robert Frost Award

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
John Lynch will received the Robert Frost Humanitarian Award Feb. 3, 2015.
John Lynch will received the Robert Frost Humanitarian Award Feb. 3, 2015.

MANCHESTER, NH — Former New Hampshire Gov. John Lynch will be honored Feb. 3 during an award ceremony at the Radisson Hotel, 700 Elm St., as recipient of the Robert Frost Contemporary American Award.  The event begins at 6 p.m., with a reception and dinner.

Boston Red Sox President and CEO Larry Lucchino is keynote speaker for the event at the  Radisson Hotel, was originally scheduled for Jan. 27, but was rescheduled due to last week’s snowstorm.

Proceeds support the Plymouth State University Alumni Association Endowed Scholarship Funds for the benefit of New Hampshire students.

About the Robert Frost Contemporary American Award

In 1970, the Plymouth State Alumni Association instituted what has become one of the most prestigious awards made by a New England college or university – the Robert Frost Contemporary American Award. The award is named in memory of America’s late poet laureate, Robert Frost, who taught at Plymouth Normal School early in the 20th century. The Alumni Association created the award to recognize those individuals whose service to the people of New England best exemplifies Robert Frost’s values of individuality, hard work, humanitarianism, and devotion to the country “North of Boston.”

Click here for ticket information.

Award Recipients

2015    John Lynch, former governor, business leader, USNH Trustee
2007    Richard Ober ’83, conservationist and writer
2005    Valerie Cunningham, author, historian, activist
2003    Stacey Cole, author, politician, advocate
2001    Maxine Kumin, Pulitzer Prize winning poet and author
1999    John D. Harrigan, journalist
1997    Donald Hall, poet and essayist
1995    Warren B. Rudman, former Attorney General of NH, served two terms in the United States Senate
1993    Walter R. Peterson, former Governor of NH, leader in higher education, politics, and civic affairs
1991    Paul J. Holloway, philanthropist and former University System of NH trustee
1989    Mary Louise Hancock, former director of NH State Planning and State Senator
1987    John W. King, former Governor of NH and Chief Justice NH Supreme Court
1985    Margaret Quill Flynn, NH Superior Court
1983    Jere A. Chase, University System of NH trustee
1981    James C. Cleveland, United States Representative
1979    J. Duane Squires, the prominent NH historian
1977    Harold Hyde, Plymouth State College President Emeritus
1976    Anna L. Philbrook, pioneering child psychiatrist
1973    Frank R. Kenison, Chief Justice, NH Supreme Court
1972    Norris Cotton, former United States Senator
1971    Amos N. Blandin Jr., State Supreme Court Justice
1970    Sherman Adams, former Governor of New Hampshire

Submit a nomination for future consideration.

Support Local News! Send Money!

About Carol Robidoux 5855 Articles
Longtime NH journalist and publisher of Loves R&B, German beer, and the Queen City!