Senior volunteers to be honored at 2019 Joseph D. Vaughan Awards

Sign Up For Our FREE Daily eNews!

CONCORD, NH – The New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS), along with Governor Christopher T. Sununu, the State Committee on Aging (SCOA), and EngAGING NH, will honor outstanding senior volunteers at the Joseph D. Vaughan Awards, to be held at the State House in Concord on Monday, May 6 at 1:30 p.m.

Each May, during Older Americans Month, EngAGING New Hampshire selects an individual or couple age 60 or older from each of New Hampshire’s ten counties to be recognized for their exemplary volunteer efforts on behalf of New Hampshire’s seniors.  The event was created in 1962 in memory of the Honorable Joseph D. Vaughan, who was instrumental in creating a State agency dedicated to the wellbeing of senior citizens.

This year’s recipients are:

Belknap County: Charlotte Leavitt of Laconia

Carroll County: Dr. Marianne Jackson of Madison

Cheshire County: Charles Anderson of Swanzey

Coos County: Mark Frank of Lancaster

Grafton County: Sheila Nelson of Hanover

Hillsborough County: Rev. Madelyn Curtis Klose of Antrim

Merrimack County: Wanda Belyea of Franklin

Rockingham County: Galen Gagnon of Portsmouth

Strafford County: Sandy Tobin of Dover

Sullivan County: Gianna Gregorutti of Claremont

About this Author

NH Department of Health and Human Services