NH Teacher of the Year: Belmont Middle School teacher now a candidate for national honor

Sign Up For Our FREE Daily eNews!

CONCORD, NH – Keith Noyes, a fifth-grade teacher at Belmont Middle School (BMS) in Belmont, is the 2019 New Hampshire Teacher of the Year. In receiving this award, he becomes New Hampshire’s candidate for National Teacher of the Year. Noyes is entering his 19th year of teaching and his sixth year at BMS.

Frank Edelblut, the commissioner of the New Hampshire Department of Education, was on hand at Belmont Middle School Oct. 10 to make the announcement (see YouTube video above).

“This honor recognizes Noyes’ exemplary leadership abilities, professional growth and achievement, and total commitment to excellence in education,” Edelblut stated. “This award and recognition builds community awareness about our finest schools and districts, and showcases the extraordinary educators in our state. Every year, the selection committee is amazed by how difficult it is to select just one educator to continue the proud tradition of teaching excellence. Noyes will serve as a leader and ambassador for all the outstanding teachers devoted to the highest level of student learning in their classrooms.”

When considering Noyes, the committee recognized his commitment to all students and his ability to reach each of them. He successfully creates and implements meaningful, engaging and personalized lessons that focus on his student’s individual needs. Noyes is dedicated to his students and school community.

From left: Aaron Pope, Christine Brennan, Keith Noyes, Lori Kincaid, Carl Ladd, Cindy Chagnon, Rich Carroll, Heidi Crumrine, and Frank Edelblut. Courtesy Photo

In his application, Noyes wrote, “The discussions and experiences we expose our students to ultimately impact the culture of our building but, more importantly, allow for these students to enter adulthood being kind hearted citizens. I’ve found that learning needs to be relevant and choices should be offered as frequently as possible. Realizing that all learners obtain, store, and retrieve learning at different rates and through unique experiences, has shifted the way I teach, assess, and ultimately determine each child’s level of proficiency. Because kids learn at different paces, I’ve learned to personalize both instruction and assessments to better allow the children to succeed.”

Aaron Pope, the principal at BMS, called Noyes in his letter of recommendation for the award, a “wonderful” member of the school community who is role model for both students and staffers.

“He leads by setting positive examples and is always willing to help out when needed. His ability to thrive in any situation and put students first are among his finest qualities,” Pope added.

Finalists for the award for 2019 included Aaron Blais of Exeter High School, Lori Christerson of Bishop Brady High School in Concord, Alice Donahoe of the James Mastricola Elementary School in Merrimack, and Allison Leach of Spaulding High School in Rochester. Semi-finalists were Elizabeth Alexakos of the Clark Wilkins Elementary School in Amherst, Kristina Hartwell of the Wheelock Elementary School in Keene, and Bradley Smith of Milford High School. In December, the semi-finalists, finalists, and Noyes will be invited to a Leadership in Education Banquet to celebrate their accomplishments along with other distinguished educators in the state.

Each year, New Hampshire schools take part in the State and National Teacher of the Year Program. The program – which is run by the Council of Chief State School Officers and presented by Voya Financial – identifies exceptional teachers in the country, recognizes their effective work in the classroom, amplifies their voices, and empowers them to participate in policy discussions at the state and national levels. For 2019, Geskus Studios and Yearbook Publishing partner with the NH DOE to help sponsor the program. The company’s president, Rich Carroll, also attended the event.

The selection process for the 2019 NH Teacher of the Year program was coordinated by a committee including: Christine Brennan, the deputy commissioner of the NH DOE, Heidi Crumrine, the 2018 NH Teacher of the Year, Cindy Chagnon, of the NH State Board of Education, and Carl Ladd, the executive director of the NH School Administrators Association.

For more information about this and other award/recognition programs coordinated through the NH DOE visit www.education.nh.gov/recognition or contact Lori Kincaid, NH Teacher of the Year Coordinator, at 603-271-6646 or e-mail Lori.Kincaid@doe.nh.gov. To contact Belmont Middle School please call 603-267-9220.