More than 80 NH students nominated for Presidential Scholars program

3 students from Manchester are among the nominees.

Sign Up For Our FREE Daily eNews!

CONCORD, NH – More than 80 New Hampshire students have been nominated by the White House Commission on Presidential Scholars and the U.S. Department of Education to be candidates for the United States Presidential Scholars Program for 2019.

The program, which started in the 1960s, honors some of the most distinguished graduating seniors in the Granite State. Students are chosen due to their academic, artistic, leadership, and technical success and involvement in their high schools and communities.

More than 4,500 students who scored exceptionally well on the SAT or ACT were invited to submit nomination materials. State education commissioners may also nominate candidates for consideration.

“We can all be proud of these New Hampshire students who have worked so hard and the teachers who have helped prepare them for this important distinction,” stated Frank Edelblut, the commissioner of the New Hampshire Department of Education. “By recognizing excellence across different domains including academic, art, leadership and technical fields, the Presidential Scholars program reinforces what New Hampshire has recognized for many years, that individual students need individual pathways to their own bright futures.”

The following students were nominated to the program:

  • Mahesh D. Agarwal, Exeter – Berwick Academy
  • Yaseen Ahmed, Dover – Phillips Exeter Academy
  • Paul Antonietti, Salem – Salem High School
  • Kenneth Beaupre, Orford – Orford High School
  • Solomon J. Bixby, Dover – Dover High School
  • Molly E. Boll, Bedford – Bedford High School
  • Emily J. Bregou, Hanover – Hanover High School
  • Victoria Burroughs, Newport – Newport Middle High School
  • Joshua Calzadillas, Nashua – Academy for Science and Design
  • Claudia V. Cantin, Plymouth – Holderness School
  • Dylan Carpino, Colebrook – Colebrook Academy
  • Luke Cassidy, Wolfeboro Falls – Stanford University EPGY Online High School
  • Prosser M. Cathey, Concord – St. Paul’s School
  • Kaitlyn Chambers, Claremont – Stevens High School
  • Sumit A. Chandra, Exeter – Phillips Exeter Academy
  • Jacqueline Cho, Exeter – Phillips Exeter Academy
  • Inyoung Choi, Concord – St. Paul’s School
  • Walter R. Cook, Keene – Keene High School
  • Christopher G. Couto, Londonderry – Academy for Science and Design
  • Gwyneth M. Crossman, Durham – Phillips Exeter Academy
  • Ankita T. Devasia, Nashua – Nashua Senior High School South
  • Eli M. Duggan, Concord – Concord High School
  • Julia Fahlbeck, Bethlehem – Profile Senior High School
  • Nolan Gagnon, Belmont – Belmont High School
  • Maeve D. Gifford, Manchester – Bishop Guertin High School
  • Kira Gousios, Nashua – Academy for Science and Design
  • Lauren M. Goyette, Bow – Bow High School
  • Grace A. Gray, Exeter – Phillips Exeter Academy
  • Lauren P. Henderson, Concord – St. Paul’s School
  • Haoxiang Hou, Meriden – Kimball Union Academy
  • Oscar N. Ingelfinger, Durham – Oyster River High School
  • Benjamin Jachim-Gallagher, Newport – Newport Middle High School
  • Alyssa M. Jarvis, Londonderry – Londonderry High School
  • Brianna Jonsz, Belmont – Belmont High School
  • Rohit Kantipudi, Madbury – Oyster River High School
  • Samantha Kelley-Derzon, Greenland – Portsmouth High School
  • Amol A. Khanna, Nashua – Nashua High School South
  • Sophia S. Kim, Merrimack – Merrimack High School
  • Abigail A. Kirk, Amherst – Groton School
  • Karsten Kleyensteuber, Claremont – Stevens High School
  • Meera Kurup, Merrimack – Bishop Guertin High School
  • Henry Lavoie, Hopkinton – Hopkinton High School
  • Ian R. Lewis, Amherst – Souhegan High School
  • Varun Lingadal, Nashua – Nashua Senior High School North
  • Aileen R. Lo, Concord – St. Paul’s School
  • Devin C. Mccabe, New Castle – Phillips Exeter Academy
  • Rosa S. Mccann, Hanover – Hanover High School
  • Shannon M. Mcinnis, Nashua – Nashua High School South
  • Nora E. Miller, Hollis – Hollis/Brookline High School
  • Bryce Morales, Portsmouth – Phillips Exeter Academy
  • Anusha Murali, Concord – Bishop Brady High School
  • Jenna L. Myers, Hampton – Winnacunnet High School
  • Laurel H. Nelson, Nashua – Academy for Science and Design
  • Linh K. Nguyen Hoang, Plymouth – Holderness School
  • Elizabeth M. Noble, Milford – Milford High School
  • Mitchell G. Norris, Portsmouth – Portsmouth High School
  • Brook Perry, Lisbon – Lisbon Regional School
  • Michaela Phan, Portsmouth – Phillips Exeter Academy
  • Sarah A. Poole, Rochester – Portsmouth Christian High School
  • Kyle Rysdam, Milford – Milford High School
  • Sarah J. Ryu, Exeter – Phillips Exeter Academy
  • Iroha Shirai, Hanover – Hanover High School
  • Gillian A. Simpson, Bedford – Bedford High School
  • Jacob W. Slaughter, Hanover – Thetford Academy
  • Kate L. Smith, Somersworth – St. Thomas Aquinas High School
  • Deepti H. Srinivasan, Nashua – Nashua Senior High School South
  • Katherine E. Stariknok, Chester – Pinkerton Academy
  • Laura Swain, Sanbornton – Winnisquam Regional High School
  • Rachel Swindell, Wilmot – Kearsarge Regional High School
  • Jason Tang, Manchester – Manchester Memorial High School
  • William J. Tanski IV, Grantham – Lebanon High School
  • Isabelle J. Telford, Portsmouth – Portsmouth High School
  • Elizabeth Tremblay, Lempster – Newport Middle High School
  • Sophie G. Unger, Amherst – Souhegan High School
  • Abigail K. Von Plinsky, Keene – Keene High School
  • Steven Wang, Concord – St. Paul’s School
  • Ashleigh Woods, Manchester – Manchester Memorial High School
  • Abigail G. Wool, Portsmouth – Berwick Academy
  • Rishika Yadav, Nashua – Nashua High School North
  • Andrey W. Yao, Plymouth – Holderness School
  • Dylan R. Yin, Exeter – Phillips Exeter Academy
  • Julia Z. Zhang, Nashua – Nashua High School South

Semi-finalists will be named in April and scholars in May. New Hampshire winners will be invited to Washington, D.C., in June, as part of the recognition program and will receive a medallion at the White House.

About this Author